European Basketball Analysis

Players | Teams | Game List in the Stats Database

Euroleague System

with 4 comments

A-Licences were assigned in 2009 to thirteen European teams. Those were be in place until after the 2011/12 season. In summer 2012, the three-year A-Licence-Ranking starts helping determine which club will be relegated, and which club will be promoted to an A-Licence. This procedure will be repeated every summer from 2012 onwards. A-Licences will then no longer have three-year guaranteed durations. Relegation from A-Licence status does not equal exclusion from the Euroleague. The team then holds neutral status and may qualify via B- or C-Licence, and may be promoted to A-Licence again the year after.

Real Madrid
FC Barcelona
Caja Laboral
Unicaja Malaga
Montepaschi Siena
CSKA Moscow
Zalgiris Kaunas
Maccabi Tel Aviv
Anadolu Efes
Asseco Prokom

Replacement (EA Milano)

B-LICENCE (8 + 1/8 QR)
B-Licences are distributed via the country ranking. When a spot is taken by a team that already owns an A-Licence, the next position in the ranking will be checked for the availability of a club that does not own an A-Licence. If such a club cannot meet the Euroleague requirements (e.g. arena standards), there is a priority (no guarantee) to distribute a wildcard to another team from the same country.

The first eight clubs will qualify directly for the Euroleague regular season, with the next eight matching up in the preliminaries, playing for the 24th and final spot on the regular season roster.


Spain 1
Russia 1
Greece 1
Italy 1
Turkey 1
France 1
Germany 1
Lithuania 1
Adriatic 1
Adriatic 2
Adriatic 3
Spain 2
Russia 2
Greece 2
Italy 2
Lithuania 2
Turkey 2
France 2
Germany 2
Adriatic 4
Belgium 1
Czech Republic 1
Ukraine 1
Israel 1
Poland 1
Bulgaria 1
Netherlands 1
Latvia 1

A one-year C-Licence will be distributed to the Euroleague winner, or, should the Euroleague winner qualify via A-Licence (quite likely), to the EuroCup winner. If the EuroCup winner already qualifies via B-Licence, there is a priority (but no guarantee) to hand a C-Licence Wildcard to the EuroCup runner-up.

The controversially debated 10.000+ arena standard will come into effect with the start of the 2012/13 Euroleague season, but only for A-Licence clubs. For everyone else, the 5.000+ standard remains in place.

The three-year-ranking (Click here for procedure and further explaination) has a dual function:

1) Providing seeds 1-6 for the Euroleague regular season draw; This rule is already in effect for the current season and has been applied to the recent Euroleague draw

2) From 2012/13 onwards, it will partially determine which club will be relegated from, and which club will be promoted to an A-Licence-spot.

Written by sJacas

July 10th, 2010 at 6:22 pm

  • Pingback: Anonymous()

  • Demanplan

    Where does exactly ULEB rankings posted? 

  • Onur17

    in new system, there are 14 A-licence team and 8 + 1/8 QR B-licence team but the 14th A-licence team (Roma) cannot join T.A. Euroleague due to being 13th in italian league therefore that A-licence become a wildcard ( most likely for milano again ). Am I wrong ?

  • sJacas

    Right, there are 14 A-Licences.

    Roma now lost the A-Licence for being bottom of the A-Licence ranking. (They had just been temporarily suspended before, for finishing in the bottom half of the Italian league)

    Now Euroleague can choose what to do with Roma’s spot:
    1. Hand out a wild card
    2. Add an additional B-Licence (this would, most likely, make Lietuvos Rytas qualify directly for the regular season)
    3. Act according to the 3-year-ranking (probably Valencia)

    And then there’s the C-Licence-Wild Card, since Khimki already qualifies via B-Licence.